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Insurance Discount for Windstorm Damage Mitigation
Passage of Act 2015-313 (SB 254, 2015 Regular Session)

The Alabama Legislature recently adopted Ala. Act No. 2015-313 (SB 254, 2015
Regular Session) which modified Chapter 31D of the Insurance Code
concerning discounts for windstorm damage mitigation required to be offered
by insurers on eligible properties. In summary, the 2015 act does the

following:

 Expands the eligible properties in Mobile and Baldwin Counties to now

include commercial buildings, effective January 1, 2016.

e Expands eligible properties to include residential and commercial
buildings in the remainder of the state, effective January 1, 2018.

* Expands the discounts to be offered to include residences and

commercial buildings receiving IBHS certificates for High Wind & Hail
mitigation. Eligible properties will only receive a discount based on
either the Hurricane certificate or the High Wind & Hail certificate, but
not both. The High Wind & Hail discounts are to be implemented by
January 1, 2016 for Mobile and Baldwin Counties, and by January 1,
2018 for the remainder of the state.

The Department of Insurance issued Bulletin 2013-07 on September 20, 2013,
establishing benchmark discounts for Hurricane mitigation on Fortified and
retrofitted homes and that bulletin is still in force in its entirety. Although Act
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2015-313 does not include mention of the Bronze, Silver, and Gold retrofit
designations, the new act does not eliminate these discounts.

This Department will issue a new bulletin sometime in the fourth quarter of
2015 providing:

New benchmark discounts applicable to wind coverage for residential
policies in Mobile and Baldwin Counties that have received the IBHS
High Wind & Hail certificates.

New benchmark discounts applicable to wind coverage for commercial
buildings in Mobile and Baldwin Counties receiving the Fortified
Commercial certificates for either Hurricane or High Wind & Hail.

o Benchmark Commercial discounts will apply to wind coverage for
class rated buildings (regardless of occupancy). Some discount
may be appropriate for wind coverage on specifically-rated
buildings if the specific rate for the wind peril does not include
credit for all of the wind mitigation features. Discounts for
specifically-rated buildings will not be published by the
Department and need not be filed by the insurer since they will be
unique to each building.

o Commercial risks located in residential-type buildings are eligible
for the discounts.

o Mitigation discounts may be included in an insurer’s filed
Schedule Rating Plan, and the resulting schedule credit may
exceed the state’s 25% maximum credit only as a result of
application of the mitigation discount.

Insurers will be required to submit their mitigation discount filings, for
residential and commercial properties within Mobile and Baldwin Counties,
with the Alabama Department of Insurance within 120 days of the date of the
yet to be issued bulletin, with a filing effective date no later than 60 days from
the filing date. All other discounts are required to be implemented no later
than January 1, 2018, for new and renewal business.

If an insurer is adopting discounts equal to or larger than the
Department’s benchmark discounts, no actuarial support is required in
the filing and the filed discounts will be considered approved as of the
filing date.

If discounts are filed that are less than the Department’s benchmark
discounts, full actuarial support must be included in the filing, and the
filing is subject to Prior Approval.

Though the Act sets a January 1, 2016, effective date for these new
discounts for Mobile and Baldwin Counties, insurers will not be
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considered in violation of the Act if their discount filings adhere to the
above guidelines.

e If an insurer receives an IBHS certificate from a policyholder requiring
application of a mitigation discount that has not yet been filed and
approved by the Department, the insurer will endorse the policy with the
new discount once the filing is approved, with the endorsement effective
on the date the IBHS certificate was received by the insurer.

e The Department generally limits insurers to one personal lines rate filing
annually, but this discount filing may be in addition to an insurer’s
regular annual rate filing.
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